Saint Hubert’s Chapel
In 1872, Count Eberhard XV acquired a late Gothic reredos from the Protestant parish of Erbach. It was originally donated to the pilgrimage church of St. Mary in Schöllenbach at the beginning of the 16th century by Schenk Eberhard XIII zu Erbach and his wife Maria von Wertheim. The purchase of the important carved altarpiece may have prompted the art-loving Count Eberhard XV to set up and consecrate a “sanctuary room” in Erbach Palace to provide a worthy setting for his growing sacred collection.
The chapel dedicated to Saint Hubert still houses important sacred works of art, including the Root of Jesse retable from Schöllenbach, which was lavishly restored from 2006 to 2010 at the Landesamt für Denkmalpflege (State Office for the Preservation of Monuments) in Biebrich Palace in Wiesbaden, in addition to the earliest surviving depictions of Erbach Palace. To this day, the mystery surrounding the probably southern German workshop and its master has not been solved. However, the prominent depiction of the late Gothic Jesse tree theme on a reredos is unique and must have had a lasting effect on the pilgrims who once travelled to Schöllenbach. The work, completed in 1515, still impresses with its size and splendour today.